Painted Kitchen Cabinets

August 7, 2008 at 9:02 pm 5 comments

Yet another step closer to the finish line on completing my kitchen remodel. Now I have painted kitchen cabinets. Overall, it looks pretty good but the process of getting to this point was painful.

The big lesson I learned at this stage, is when you get down to the finish work, you had better be on site to prevent any screw-ups. Yes there were pretty big screw-ups. Although I provided explicit directions for the painter not paint both sides of the pocket door, the did anyway. The even painted some of the moldings I spent days to stripping and restoring. If I am unable to get the paint completely off the pocket door, I may have to replace it — which means the painter’s fee will be slashed in half (the douglas fir pocket door cost me over $1K) .

Despite complications and frustration the kitchen is shaping up nicely.

Before Photo
Kitchen Countertops
After Photo
Kitchen Sink

Now I have some painting to do and I need to select my backsplash material. That means another trip to CV Tile in Pasadena and a consultation with my favorite tile person Veronica. After rummaging around amongst tile samples for an hour or two here is what we came up with.
Glass Tile Backsplash

Originally, I was only looking for glass tile, but after seeing this combo, I think the border of white and greeenish/gold tile are extremely compelling. I will need to get a whiter white to match my cabinets, but this is a winning combination!

Stay tuned — within the next couple days I will be painting the walls and ceiling. I have selected a earthy green as my field color. It’s going to look rich

Entry filed under: Craftsman Bungalow, kitchen remodel. Tags: , , , , .

Bungalow Kitchen Countertop Kitchen Walls Painted

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kari  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Your kitchen is really coming together! Can I ask you where you got your cabinets? I’ve got three bids out for my cabinets but I’m not thrilled with the color choices when you buy them prepainted. I would like a very soft, warm white for my cabinets but can’t find that color prepainted. Aside from your pocket doors, were you happy with the paint job done on site? Maybe that’s the way I should go…

    Reply
  • 2. joseph deck  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

    The cabinet maker and painter were recommended to me by a co-worker. The cabinet maker is Rudy’s Custom Cabinets (818) 483 7406. I don’t have the painter’s contact info, but I will get it for you.

    The custom route is more expensive, but you have a lot more flexibility in what you get – cabinets, colors, etc. There were a few hickups with the painting but the painter was willing to work with me on fixing problems. Overall, I am very happy.

    Reply
  • 3. Jesse  |  August 13, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Wow it really is coming together. Are those plain cabinets? Why not try something a little more exotic or a little more spiced up? I know this sounds corny but I actually went online and searched for a honey maple-style design (because it fit with my kitchen)…I ended up ordering from http://www.kitchenspro.com . They have a bunch of other styles too. Check it out if you want.

    But Anyways, congrats on the new look, it does look nice either way 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Alex  |  August 8, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Could you tell me the name of the tile backsplash, and the manufacturer? I think it’s stunning, and would like to use it in my bathroom.
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • 5. joseph deck  |  May 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      i will have to dig through my receipts to see if i could find the name. You could also reach out to Veronica at CV tile in Pasadena. If you point her to my blog post I think she could tell you the brand.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 65,084 hits

