A new blog post finally

October 25, 2007 at 10:23 pm Leave a comment

it’s been quite some time since I updated the progress on my project. I’ve been busily working for most of my blogging hiatus. The house really doesn’t look much different but there has been a ton of work done. First, I removed all the old lathe and plaster walls, so I could insulate the walls and rewire the entire house. At first I thought rewiring was an unecessary luxury, but when I found out that insulating around an old knob and tube wiring systems was a fire hazard my decision was made. I paid roughly $3,500 to have the house completely rewired and I put about $800 worth of insulation into the walls and ceiling.

The next big project was to install a central heating and airconditioning system. Like the wiring I outsourced this work. I paide $5800 to have the heating and air conditioning coil system installed — I held off on the compressor because with cold weather coming I didn’t feel a pressing need for air conditioning. Since there was no wall or ceiling in the house installation only took a couple days.

With the major infrastrucutre improvements done, we have been busy with installing plywood shear supports and drywall throughout the house. I decided to install 3/8′ plywood on the inside perimeter and load bearing walls to improve the structural integrity of the house. You know the saying; they don’t build them like they use to– well in this case I think that’s probably a good thing. Today’s structural codes are much more stringent. Over the plywood we installed 3/8 drywall which brings us to the original 3/4 thickness for the walls.

As I was waiting to order some lumber at home depot the other day I thumbed through a book on house framing. I was quite surprised to learn that the depth that the nail is sunk into plywood effects the structural strength. So if you have 3/8 drywall and you sink the nail a depth of say 2/8′ your plywood will have the strength of 1/8′ plywood. So the ideal depth would leave you exactly flush with the plywood. I definitely put that in the good things to know category.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bathroom Remodel Trimmings Finished Bathroom

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 66,095 hits

