Kitchen & Bath Demo

April 29, 2007 at 10:08 am 2 comments

After doing a few walls myself I decided I needed to get some help. The demo work isn’t difficult, but the dirt and dust really take a toll on the sinuses. Here is a picture of kitchen with the demolition completed.

Demo'd Kitchen Area

Demolition on this scale makes a house unlivable. The dust gets into everything and keeps settling for several days.

After removing the plaster, I went to the city to pull the permits for removing the walls and moving the plumbing. I thought removing the walls would be simple, but the city planner disabused me of this idea. The rule of thumb for taking out structural support walls is your header needs an inch of depth for every foot of span. In my case I have two spans to cover; one 12ft and one 8ft. The 12ft span requires a 14in header (it was a little over 12ft). This is problematic because the required headers would divide the space — which defeats the purpose of removing the walls.

Despite being disappointed about the news from the city planner, I’m glad I checked before removing the walls – disaster averted.

The windows present another challenge for my kitchen remodel. You’ll notice in the photo below that the headers are not to current code. As a result, moving and reconfiguring the placement of the windows will require a significant amount of work.

Kitchen Windows

Entry filed under: Bungalow, California Bungalow, kitchen remodel, Uncategorized.

Taking Down Kitchen Walls New Design For Bungalow Addition

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gene & Janet Torncello  |  June 22, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Joseph:
    Janet & I met you at the wine bar this evening and talked about the vicissitudes of home remodeling, and we accessed and e–first blog we’ve ever looked at. Sometime would like to show you our project in Sierra Madre that I have stagnated on. Some similarities, but you’re making more progress. Best of Luck.
    Gene & Janet.

    Reply
  • 2. Mick  |  August 16, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Have you worked on the headers over your windows yet? It’s actually not too bad, I recently ripped out all of my doubled 2×4’s and replaced with 4×8’s in preparation for a major upstairs addition (per instructions from a structural engineer). I’m in OR, so I don’t know what the CA requirements are, but the process wasn’t too difficult. A circular saw with the blade set as deep as it would go made the original cut (straight and level) and finished with a sawzall. Add some jack studs or a king stud and you’re done. My brother-in-law and I retrofitted 11 openings (doors and windows) in a day and half. Time and a few hundred dollars well spent.

    Good luck – it looks like you’re on the right track.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 65,622 hits

