Refinished Doug Fir Floors

April 7, 2007 at 6:03 pm 13 comments

To make the house somewhat liveable I had the floors refinished. I wasn’t 100% sure that refinishing would work because as the before photos show the floors were in bad shape. Mike the Hardwood Floor Guy assured me that he could bring them back to life. A co-worker told me this guy was the hardwood floor Hosana.

I decided to take the chance. Mikes bid was $2500 for the job. Some floor boards needed to be replaced, so we added a couple hundred to the final price. Overall, the price came out to about $4 per sq ft, 700 sq ft of flooring was refinished, which is about half the price of laminate flooring.

IMG_0894

IMG_0893

IMG_0889

I think the floors turned out to be quite beautiful; however they are still old and have some imperfections like cracks between some boards, exposed nails, etc. I think this gives them character. What do you think

Entry filed under: California Bungalow, douglas fir floors, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Before Photos Buying Bathroom Tile

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Claire  |  June 21, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    where did you find this Mike guy. we really want to refurbish our douglas firs as well. we live in highland park near pasadena. thanks.

    Reply
  • 2. joseph deck  |  June 22, 2007 at 6:23 am

    A coworker of mine recommended him. His phone number is 626-524 4780. My final price on the job was a bit higher than the original quote, because Mike and his crew ran into some complications when stripping the floors. Still it was money well spent, everyone always comments on how beautiful the floors are.

    Reply
  • 3. Jo V. Bullington  |  April 6, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    We have purchased a 1906 small (cottage) brick Victorian home with what we have been told are douglas fir flooring. Carpet was glued over the floor, no padding.

    We were told it is very soft and that it would gouge easily when sanded. We were told there would probably be glue in the cracks and when refinished we could not be gauranteed we would be happy.

    I was raised with hardwood floors. I hate carpet. Would not mind having procelain tile in kitchen and bath, but prefer the wood elsewhere.

    This home is in Colorado and we have been told due to its dry climate they recommend pre engineered wood flooring.

    I have been pulling everything off the internet I can find on Douglas Fir flooring.

    Can you give me some recommendations as to what we should do.

    Thank you.

    Reply
  • 4. Sam  |  June 25, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Floors look amazing. Can you tell me what type of floor finish was used? Did you have them stained first? I am doing this to my house right now and would love to know.
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 5. joseph deck  |  June 30, 2008 at 5:11 am

    The guy who refinished the floors said the stain he used was special walnut. I will call him today to see if I can get the brand for you.

    The douglas fir floors are absolutely beautiful, but I have to say they are quite soft — I wouldn’t think they would hold up very well if you had kids or lots of traffic.

    Reply
  • 6. Beet  |  March 21, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    What finish did you use? Did you go with a polyurethane finish? I want to refinish Doug Fir floors with solvent free finish (called Bioshield) but I cant find anyone who has tried it. Thanks! (Im also interested in the color you used for the stain.)

    Reply
    • 7. joseph deck  |  May 24, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      I used a satin polyurethane finish. The stain is something I cooked up myself. I used American Walnut stain as my base and I mixed in some red mahogany dye. The dye penetrates the wood to give it a rich even color and the stain makes the grain pop. I spent a couple days playing around with different mixtures until i got just what i wanted.

      Reply
  • 8. Nicole  |  August 18, 2011 at 10:08 am

    The floors look great! I’m currently refinishing my old fir floors and have been scouring the internet looking for examples. The stain in these photos is exactly what I’ve been looking for.

    Joseph, can you tell me what brand you used for the stain and poly? Are you willing to share your dye information? I have only minwax available out here in the middle of nowhere Oregon. Despite much experimentation, none of my stain mixtures come close to what you have achieved.

    Reply
    • 9. joseph deck  |  January 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      I did not do the floors, but I am getting similar results on the rest of my Douglas Fir with General Finishes – American Walnut oil based mixed with Trans Tint red mahogany dye. I am using General Finishes oil based poly. You can buy the material from Rockler Woodworking — maybe they can ship to you.

      Reply
      • 10. Nic  |  January 2, 2013 at 3:18 pm

        After doings lots of tests, we ended up using Varathane gunstock. It came out great! Thanks for the inspiration. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 11. joseph deck  |  January 2, 2013 at 6:08 pm

        send me a link to some pics — i would like to see how it turned out

      • 12. northwest10th  |  January 2, 2013 at 9:47 pm

        I started a blog and have been slow to add new entries and good pics, but there’s a couple (poor quality) pics here: http://northwest10th.wordpress.com/house-tour/
        I’m planning on updating the blog over the next month. I’m determined to finally be done with this house! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 13. joseph deck  |  January 5, 2013 at 6:24 pm

        houses are always WIP ๐Ÿ˜‰ I keep dreaming up new projects. I am in the process of finishing a covered deck on the back of the house. Hopefully, i will finish most of it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 65,622 hits

